Worship Wednesday- 40 Songs For Lent

Sammie Here! Welcome back to Worship Wednesday. It’s official guys….. We are ONE WEEK away from the start of Lent!

dwight

No need to panic. Lent can seem daunting, but it can be a huge blessing if we go into it with an open heart. It is a wonderful opportunity for us to practice discipline, lead us closer to God, unite our sufferings with Jesus, and prepare our souls for eternity.

Personally, I have gone into the season of lent with the wrong mindset in the past. For example, I have a major sweet tooth, so I would typically give up sweets for Lent. Looking back now,  I realized that I did a poor job growing closer to God in my lack of sugar. Instead of praying in the moment of desire for sweets, I would just focus on the fact that I couldn’t eat them or I would turn to something else to distract myself, like television, my phone, etc. Now giving up sweets did help me with discipline (for 40 days), but I totally missed the mark. I could have been praying A LOT because I constantly wanted sugar (haha), but I missed that opportunity.

face palm

I know, I know. How did I go through lent without actually uniting myself to Christ? Well it is possible people, and I pray that I never do this again. Come Holy Spirit. Give us grace! Give us the grace to turn to You in prayer when we are tempted. Help us not to become distracted from what you are calling us to, even if it hurts. Amen!

I am still working on what I am doing for lent this year, but what ever it is I decide, I pray that it will truly be an opportunity to search myself and unite myself to Christ’s sufferings, an that it won’t be just something I complete or accomplish. For it is in suffering that we grow in holiness. Whatever it is we choose to do this lent, let us remember the why. Self denial and fasting are ways we can draw close to Jesus’ suffering. This is a chance for us to grow into a deeper relationship with Jesus Christ, and to become the person He created us to be. Are we turning to prayer? Are we helping people with our time? Prayer. Fasting. Alms-giving. That is what it is all about. All for Jesus.

I have created a playlist of 40 songs to pray with during the Lenten season.I pray that it serves you well this lent.
1. Come Thou Fount-Audrey Assad
2. O Praise the Name (Anástasis)-Shane & Shane
3. Closer walk with Thee-Willie Nelson & Patsy Cline
4. Messiah / You’re Beautiful– Phil Wickham
5. Only You-Of the Land
6. O Come to the altar-Elevation Worship
7. It Won’t Be Very Long -Sam Cooke
8 Restless-Audrey Assad
9. Even When It Hurts (Praise Song) (Live)-Hillsong UNITED – Of Dirt And Grace
10. Abide With Me-Matt Maher
11. Take My Hand, Precious Lord-Joey+Rory
12. Closer– Bethel Music & Steffany Frizzell Gretzinger
13. Extravagant (Live)-Bethel Music – Starlight (Live)
14. Lead Me to the Cross- Shane & Shane
15. Broken Vessels (Amazing Grace) (Live)-Hillsong Worship
16. Psalm 42-Tori Kelly
17. When I Survey (The Wondrous Cross)-Kathryn Scott
18. Our Soul Waits for the Lord-The London Fox Taize Choir
19. Even Unto Death-Audrey Assad
20. Drawn to You-Audrey Assad
21.Jesus Remember Me-Simply Taizé – Taizé Reflections, Vol. 1
22. Even So Come (Radio Version/Live) -Passion
23 I Surrender (Live)-Hillsong Worship
24. Rest-Matt Maher
25. My Heart Is Yours (Live)-Passion
26. You Are My King (Amazing Love)-Shane & Shane
27. O the Blood (Live)-Gateway Worship Feat. Kari Jobe
28. Beautiful Things- Gungor
29. Come Home-Jon Foreman – The Wonderlands: Darkness
30. Take Courage (Live)-Bethel Music
31. Crooked Soul-Ike Ndolo
32. All My Hope-Crowder
33. Back to the Father [Live]– Covenant Worship
34. Sweet Is The Sorrow-Brothers McClurg
35. The Stand-Hillsong UNITED
36. Come Alive (Dry Bones)-Lauren Daigle
37. Were You There When They Crucified My Lord– Mike Fekete
38. Jesus Paid It All [feat. Kristian Stanfill]-Passion
39. Here as in Heaven-Elevation Worship
40. Be Thou My Vision-Audrey Assad

Here is the link to the playlist I created on Amazon music, if you have Amazon Music:

https://music.amazon.com/embed/303be3f0d4be454c9eb5a1098f378ee0sune/?id=Wq86gR4rYT&marketplaceId=ATVPDKIKX0DER&musicTerritory=US

Lent is challenging, but beautiful. It will be so worth it, when we get to the Easter season, and God willing, heaven. LETS GOOOOO!!!

giphy

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment